Resolutions or Not

singlebuttfly

 

 

Every year I hear many of my dear friends make resolutions for the new year.  I have to admit I used to do the same thing.  But here is what I have learned over the years about resolutions.  I am terrible at keeping them.  In fact most of the time I had long forgotten them by or before the end of January.  The thing is I really like me most of the time.  I realize I am a work in progress all the time and God has his hands full with me.  But I do like having a focus.  Something that I think will help me move forward in my little world.  I pray about it for a while and often it is by surprise that God points the way.  Can I just say, God’s timetable does not meet mine?  There are many times it is not by January 1 that I know the direction we are heading.  For someone who likes to know things ahead of time, this is a bit mind boggling at times and I am pretty sure God uses it to bring me out of my comfort zone.

In the last few months of 2014, my family experienced a loss in our family.  It touched my heart very deeply and I just seemed to go through the moments.  As  I was looking back I felt like God was asking me to awake my soul, my very being.  I love music and so many of the songs that I listened to had those words in it.  My devotions did too.  I did not like the word at all and I am still not sure what God is going to do with that and our journey.  But I am game for the adventure.  AWAKEN!  What does that mean?  Already he has shown me that I need to live in the moments.  Once they are gone, I can’t get them back.  How true to heart that is.  I am working on having a healthy body and spirit and somehow I believe God will awaken me as we walk together.  I have never been one to like being out of my comfort zone, but I believe God is going to ask that of me.  I can choose to let fear rule or I can choose to follow God’s lead and live in the moment.  Who knows what I will discover.  But I will never know unless I take the risk.  I don’t want to go through life not truly living and missing out on some of the most treasured moments God is holding out to me.

 

 

Love hearing from my friends, so leave a note.

