Simple Joy

bof-teacup2

 

 

Being a teacher, I love it when I get a call that says no school!  I am just as bad as my students who I am sure are jumping for joy today.  The roads have not recovered from our weekend snowstorm and the wind chill is -12.  So I am grateful to have a warm home to spend the day in with a good book.

As I was watching the sun glisten on the snow this morning I was reminded of how often I take for granted the simple joy of the moments God puts before me.  There are so many I miss.  The snow this morning sparkled with joy and if it hadn’t been so cold I am sure I would have made a snow angel.  Something I haven’t done since I was a kid.  Simple moments this morning as I had tea and spent time with God and could do it unrushed or worrying about getting to work and what the day had for me.  I don’t think planning out the day is bad.  I am a planner and list maker, but I think I need to realize sometimes God’s plans for the day will differ from mine and just maybe he wants me to let my plan go so I don’t miss out on the moment.  I am finding as I have gotten older, I don’t want the fast paced life, rather I would like to slow down and enjoy it.  I don’t want my sons looking back on my journey of faith seeing that I took the simple moments for granted.  I want to live them full of joy.

This weekend a teacher lost her life in a car accident.  She thought she needed to get back and the roads were bad.  It just goes to show you don’t know when God is going to say come home.  Live life in the simple moments every chance you get.  Enjoy them. Tell the people you care about that you love them.  It is living in the moment and that is what life is all about.  God wants us to share him in those simple joys of life.  How about it?  Care to join me in living in the simple joys of the day?

Love hearing from my friends, so leave a note.

