Thankful Moments

singlebuttfly

 

 

This week has been long, busy, and stretching to me physically and spiritually.  I found myself in a bit of a slump and having a pity party. It was a sad sight.  I certainly wasn’t living in the moment. The last thing I wanted to do was allow God to do some work on my heart.

One of my favorite verses in the Bible is Psalm 46:10.  It says, “Be still and know I am God.”  That verse came to my attention several times.  I thought on it often.  I am not a be still person.  I am an on the go type of person.  Yet I felt the nudge from God that he wasn’t asking me to be still but wanted me to be obedient in his asking.  I believe I was fearful of what God would see….my whiny attitude!  The first thing I felt as I sat in the quiet was God’s love for me.  He loves me.  He understands me.  How comforting in my tears to know I am loved.  I began to open my heart to God and he showed me how much my attitude would be different if I realized how much he had blessed me.  While life was challenging, I was growing and drawing closer to him.  I began to look for his blessings when I felt the world caving in around me.  I was amazed at how much he was right there with me.

Even in the muck of life, I have much to be thankful for.  But I must be still and see with more than my eyes.  I must be willing to open my heart to God and allow Him to mend the broken.  Allow him to heal my cracks and flaws.  It has not been easy, but my soul is feeling nourished.  Taking the time to be thankful brings an attitude of joy and grace and while my life’s circumstances haven’t changed, my heart has.

So I am trying to look for God in the ordinary and muck and learn to be still.  In the stillness, life is emerging into attitude of gratitude.e

 

 

One thought on “Thankful Moments

  1. I love this…

    “But I must be still and see with more than my eyes. I must be willing to open my heart to God and allow Him to mend the broken. Allow him to heal my cracks and flaws”

    Oh to be still and see with more than my eyes… like you I am a go type of person. Great reminder to be still in Him. Blessings to you 🙂

    Like

Love hearing from my friends, so leave a note.

