Dating Mr. Darcy

couple

 

 

I am a big fan of Jane Austen.  She is my favorite author and I am what some would refer to as a true Janenite.  I have read all her books and many sequels.  I am one who likes you to stay true to her characters.  My favorite book is Pride and Prejudice.  I read it at least once a year, if not more.  My favorite movie of it is the 2005 version.  I have a fancy for Mr. Darcy.  His character fascinates me and makes me ponder in a reflective way.  The funny thing is I have my own version of Mr. Darcy with me cast as Elizabeth.  God threw two people together that were totally opposite and very independent as Jane’s characters are.  I have often thought how did He think we would work?  But the thing is we have been together for nearly 25 years and he is my Mr. Darcy.

My Mr. Darcy is very busy as wrestling coach, teacher, dad, and hubby.  With two sons who will be graduating soon, life is busy is at our house and myself being a teacher keeps us on our toes.  So going out on a true date does not happen often for us.  This last week my dear Mr. Darcy asked me if I would like to go to dinner and a movie.  I, of course, took him up on that offer.  Who turns down no cooking and a handsome guy to hang out with.  Not me!!!  It was a wonderful time.  Last night we decided on the spur of the moment to go the movies again.  My sons couldn’t believe we were going out on a date two weeks in a row.  I told them it was a look to the future for when they are in college and it just my Mr. Darcy and me.

Here is what I have discovered in the past two weeks.  That sometimes you have to let go of the things that will still be there tomorrow to truly live in the moments of life now.  We have had more fun doing spur of the moment things that we thought we had been missing out.  Just like Jane Austen’s Mr. Darcy loves Elizabeth and shows that in a variety of ways, so does my Mr. Darcy who truly owns my heart.  Our life is living in the moments that are hard, joyous, and spur of the moment to name a few.  I wouldn’t trade that for the world.  I thank God every day for allowing me to be part of his life and for the joy and love he brings to mine.  I think Jane would be proud.

Enjoy the day my friends and live in the moment.  It is an adventure waiting to happen if you take the leap of faith.

Love hearing from my friends, so leave a note.

