Home Sweet Home

IMG_0471

 

 

 

There is something to be said about coming home.  I have spent the past week in Washington D. C.  It was fun, enlightening, and made me realize how much I adore home.  Don’t get me wrong I loved being on vacation.  I visited our nation’s capital, the art museum, and Ford’s theater to name a few of my favorites.  I learned about women in history who were way ahead of their time and fascinated me to learn more about them.  I currently have a book list a mile long, but then that is nothing new and I want to learn more about these women I came to learn about.  I saw the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution, and the Bill of Rights.  Let me tell you seeing those up close was breath taking to me.  I am a history freak and love studying it.  I saw Monet paintings, including my favorite one up close and personal and wanted to buy one.  Hubby didn’t think it would fit in my suitcase.  Maybe next time!  I loved it all, but I also got a chance to study people and life in the big city and can I just say I am simple down to earth woman who loves the quiet life of my little farm and my  little town.

Every day we had to walk or take the Metro to get to places.  People in a rush constantly.  They don’t take a liking to you being on the wrong side of the escalator either.  They get on the Metro and plug in their ear phones and tune out the rest of the world.  I would probably miss my stop if I did that.  I tend to get distracted.  Cars honk at pedestrians if they don’t hurry.  It is a fast paced life that is always on the move.  By Sunday when it was time to return home, I couldn’t wait.  My home is small and filled with dirty laundry, dishes in the sink, and a shaggy dog.  But it is also filled with love of a family who lives in the moment and at our pace.  Simple, but joyful.  Seeing my little farm made me smile.  My people welcoming us home, life at a slower pace, and a dog who missed me.  Though I came home to a broken dryer, I still smiled.  It was my dryer and my home.  Life on the farm is never boring and that night watching the sunset, I took a deep breath and said Thank you Lord for planting me here.  City life is fun for  a few days, but life on the farm for this girl is home sweet home.

Blessings dear friends,

Tammy

Love hearing from my friends, so leave a note.

