County Fair Time

IMG_0214

 

 

 

Life on the farm is busy now.  This week is our county fair and our little town practically shuts down.  Let me say if the courthouse closes, then you know county fair ranks pretty high in our little corner of the world.  This year is a bittersweet as it is the first fair without my dear father in law and my sons last fair to ever show in.  My hubby remarked that he had kids of his own show for 27 years.  Amazing in my eyes!  So we have been busy clipping steers and pigs and working our sheep.  One year we went to fair with 25 animals.  Thankfully that is not the case this year.  But we still have plenty going.

I love the fair for its food and exhibits as well.  I have decided there is no better place for fun food than the fair.  It is the place to get walking tacos that are to die for and chocolate ice cream sandwiches for under a dollar that I have to have several times a day.  The exhibits are fun.  I especially enjoy the quilts and the education building.  The handwork on the quilts just makes me stare in awe.  Reminds me of my grandmother who was an avid quilter.  I think of all the time that goes into a quilt.  There is a reason I don’t do it, I am not that patient.  The education booth offers me new art ideas and I can see how my students from the year before did and that is always fun.  What teacher can not use a few new ideas for art?

The people make the fair.  I love how dear friends and family return to the fair and we have a chance to catch up and pick up right where we left off when we said good by.  It makes for wonderful memories.  So while there is some sadness this year, there will be much joy as we close out our summer with laughter and fun and memories to treasure for a lifetime.

Have a blessed day my friends,

Tammy

Love hearing from my friends, so leave a note.

