College Mom

writingdesk

 

 

Happy Friday!  I don’t know about you, but I am ready for a few days of rest and slowing down.  It was the first full week of school and all in all, I can say it went well.  My little butterflies are getting used to routine and doing more work and not a day goes by that they don’t make me laugh.  It was also the first week of college for my dear sons.  They found out life is different when you don’t have mom around full time to do everything.

One called me seven times in one day.  (I am sure my number was on speed dial)  It finally came down to me telling him, you are in college now and some things you have to figure out for yourself.  If you need a book, get it.  I am not where you are, so you just gotta do it.  I was sure they would not need me and come to find out, I am needed.  Just in different ways.  I gave more encouragement and prayers than I have in a long while.  I realized I am still mom, but their needs are not the same now that they are in college and so my role changes.  They were both surprised how much time they had and wondered what to do other than study.  I had more than enough suggestions.  This was learning week for us all.  I found myself surprised that I liked not having to do laundry every day and not cooking every day.  I still don’t have the hang of cooking for two, so we eat leftovers.  My own Mr. Darcy and I have found time to enjoy each other and not be running in circles all the time.  I believe we will come to enjoy this a great deal as we watch the work of God in our sons lives.  College is great place to discover and learn.  I already see that happening and as a mom I am proud that my sons have taken the leap, even though scary, and are learning about life, the good and bad.

So as the week closes out, I smile knowing I am still needed as a mom and we are all loved beyond words.  That is living in the moment in my book.

Have a great weekend, my friends!

Tammy

Love hearing from my friends, so leave a note.

