Be Still

purple

Do any of us know how to be still?  Really, consider that for a moment.  When was the last time you just sat in the quiet and listened?  If you are like me, that might seem like a long time ago.  My world has been a bit crazy and I will admit I am not a sit down and be still person.  My wings are always in motion.  That might explain why this week I had the worse cold ever.  It was long sleepless nights, Kleenex boxes, and hot tea.  But here is what I discovered, I had nothing to do but be still.  Trust me God used the moment.  He has been whispering it to my heart all week.  I thought by today I had the lesson down.  My sweet grandson was baptized today and my sons were his sponsors.  It was quite a moment.  But then the sermon came and wouldn’t you know, it was on being still.  I do believe God has a sense of humor.  What I have learned is that when we don’t be still and listen, we become run down physically and spiritually.  We think we need to do it all.  While making our day count isn’t bad, I don’t believe God wants us to miss the small moments, the living in the moment time we so badly need.  My cold forced me to slow down.  But I have realized how very much I ignored my body and heart when it said it was tired.  Rest for a minute.  So this week I am planning quiet moments in my day.  A few moments to listen and be still.

As Psalm 46:10 says, “Be still and know I am God.”

Take time for quiet.  It is worth it.  The moments become treasures and we can do the work we are called to do.

Blessings on your week ahead,

Tammy

Love hearing from my friends, so leave a note.

