The Gift of Prayer

writingdesk

 

 

Today I was reminded why prayer is so important.  Have you ever told someone you would pray and then forgot?  I have to confess I have done that many times.  Today my hubby and I went to breakfast and were on our way home.  I felt the urge to pray and ask God to comfort and protect those I love, my friends, and those who just need Him that I don’t know.  Shortly there after, we met an ambulance and heard life flight.  I knew that was not good and I had the worst feeling ever.  I knew it was someone I knew.  I was thankful upon arrival to my home, it was not my own.  But it was a dear friend and another dear family I knew that were involved in an accident.  I was in prayer immediately.  While I do not know the outcome of the days ahead, I learned a very valuable lesson.

Prayer matters to God and it matters to those we care about and may never meet.  Why is it we feel the need to pray only when something bad happens?  God wants more than that.  It is in prayer we build intimacy with Him and relationship.  Prayer is conversation with Him.  I asked God to open my heart as wide as He could so the line is open between Him and I.  I believe He knew my sweet friend and this sweet family we knew, needed prayer to begin before they asked.  But I also believe He wanted me to see the importance of spending time in His word and prayer to get to know Him from my head to the very marrow of my bones and that my prayer life was lacking.  I am so thankful God can take something that I can focus on and relate to and make it a life lesson.  A moment to live in the moment.

My friends God is waiting to hear from us.  Don’t wait until He asks you to do it or something bad happens.  Make a moment to live in daily.  Send those short prayers up, but also spend time at His feet and don’t do all the talking.  How else will you know what He has to say to your heart.  Being still and quiet is not easy.  I know I am a work in progress.

I know I would appreciate your prayers for my sweet dear friend and the for other family that is dear to me as well.  Ask God to give them comfort, strength, and courage to face the days ahead.  I thank you from the bottom of my heart.  As I know God hears the prayers of one and many and works His plan.

Happy Father’s Day and blessings,

Tammy

Love hearing from my friends, so leave a note.

