Be Still

robin

Be still and know I am God.

~Psalm 46:10~

So often in this world we are encouraged to constantly be a living our lives at a fast pace.  As I was driving yesterday, I noticed the speed of cars all around me and they were in a hurry, hurry, hurry.  I thought to myself how sad that we feel we have to race around to be noticed, to keep up, or because we know nothing different.  I remember thinking how easy it is to get caught on that roller coaster and feel like you can’t get off.  God knows my heart so well and brought to mind a favorite verse that helped me see things in a bit different perspective.  I have come to a point in my life where I want to slow down and enjoy the moments.  If I am constantly going at the pace of the world, how will I notice God?  How will I hear His whisper?  How will I take in the fingerprints of His touch on the evening sunset?  If I choose to go at the pace that the world around me says I need to go, I will miss out on God.  I am finding in the last few months that being still is not a bad thing.  In fact, my soul craves it.  My life is busy and yet it has taken me to get to age 50 to realize I have a choice.  I can say no and that is ok.  Maybe not with the world, but with God and my heart yes.  I want to live in the small moments that are so often overlooked because we are busy trying to get ahead.  Now don’t get me wrong, I am not saying going for your dreams and doing things is wrong.  But when it becomes our main focus we lose sight of who we are.  Each morning when I get up for tea, I hear the birds serenade me with a symphony.  I find great delight in that in the quiet of the morning.  I am not a morning person, but God is changing that slowly.  I believe He understands I need change in baby steps.  🙂  I guess what my favorite verse taught me was that I have to be still to know God and hear His whispers and see Him in the ordinary moments of my life.  I like that idea.  How about you?  What are you doing to slow down for a few moments and take in the quiet around you?  It is not easy at first, but I find I am living in the moment when I do.

Blessings my dear friends,

Tammy

Love hearing from my friends, so leave a note.

