Rest

parkroad

Rest!  What comes to your mind when you see that word?  I have thought about it often lately.  In a short time I will be heading back to the classroom to my butterflies.  I thought summer is flying.  Why is everyone in such a race?  We can only accomplish so much in a day and I believe each day needs a bit of rest for our souls, minds, and body.  What that looks like is different for each of us.  For me, it is teatime.  Listening to the kettle hum, waiting for the tea to steep, and then enjoying it, make my world slow down.  I have come to a point recently where I have come to realize I don’t have to try and do it all in a day.  Somethings will just not get done.  Now for this type A personality, that is a big step.  It has taken me a very long time to get to this point.  But in my quiet time with God, He has shown me why I need rest daily.  I find I look forward to those moments with Him, my family, and myself.  I make a list the night before and it is not a whole page long, just the important things for that day.  Sometimes that list is accomplished, sometimes it is partial.  I move the list to the next day.  I stopped fretting about it because it was stressing me out.  I am finding I am going to have work this a bit more when I get back into school.  I have to realize that all papers will not be graded the next day, but I got to spend time with my hubby.  It is a matter of priorities.  I am a work in progress.  But this summer God has really been working on my perfection issues and trying to do all and be all.  I was unhappy.  It came to a head when my sweet mother-in-law went to be with Jesus.  I know there will be days where stress will get me and I may have to hit things a bit harder, but I hope those days will be far and few between.  But I have also learned when I fall into old patterns, there is grace not perfection.  I must give myself grace and realize that God’s mercies are new every morning and it is a fresh start.

My hubby and I are taking a vacation to celebrate 25 years of marriage.  We don’t have an agenda and you know I am excited about that. I wonder what kind of adventure God will lead us into and what treasured memories I will hold dearly in my heart.  No plans, no agenda for this type A planner/perfectionist!  Wow! That is a happy step in my journey.  Don’t worry I will have more to share upon my return.  But for the next week, the blog will be in rest mode.  Please feel free to stop and smell the flowers and have tea.  I left the teapot humming for you.

Blessings,

Tammy

Love hearing from my friends, so leave a note.

